Student awards

Fee awarded to students that executed an excellent fundamental or applied cancer research during their scientific internship.

Promising students can receive an incentive prize from the Nijbakker-Morra Foundation. This thesis prize consists of a sum of 2500 euros that can be freely spent to support the future research career, such as attending a scientific conference on cancer research abroad. A condition to be eligible for this incentive prize is that the student has completed a research internship in the 12 months before the deadline in the field of fundamental or applied cancer research and has thereby demonstrated a special talent and motivation for cancer research.


Students can be nominated by their supervisor, but the student must take the initiative to actually compete for the prize. Nominations can be submitted every year before 1 November 5 pm. The nomination must contain the following information:

  • CV of the student
  • Motivation letter from the student
  • Recommendation/support letter from the supervisor
  • Report of the research internship and/or copy of publication

The price is awarded once per academic year in the first week of February. Entries will be judged by the Medical Advisory Committee of the Nijbakker-Morra Foundation. The motivation is an essential part of the assessment and can be the deciding factor if the research is of equal quality. Entries for the prize can be addressed to Prof. dr. Dr. P. Devilee. Submission must be made through the Secretariat of the Medical Advisory Committee, attn. Ms. M. Kantebeen-Zoetemelk. Please submit by e-mail (preferably as 1 PDF):

Award ceremony 2021 – Interested parties are welcome

The next festive presentation of the student awards will take place on Wednesday 29 September from 15.30-17.30 at the Netherlands Cancer Institute (NKI) – Antoni van Leeuwenhoek, Plesmanlaan 121, 1066 CX Amsterdam, the Netherlands.
A (small-scale) physical ceremony is possible again! During the meeting, the prize winners will explain their research in a presentation of 15-20 minutes that is also understandable for laymen. Afterwards there is a drink and an opportunity to congratulate. In addition to family and friends of the prize winners, (limited) interested parties are also very welcome – please register via

Award winners this year

During the academic year 2020-2021 the following three student awards are granted:

  • Dasha Fedorushkova, Medicine, Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • Floor Timmer, Medicine, Amsterdam UMC
  • Florentine Verbeek, Medicine en Biomedical Sciences, Erasmus Universiteit Rotterdam

Award winners since academic year 2003-2004

Nijbakker-Morra Stichting Prijswinnaars 2019-2020
Awards academic year 2019-2020
Nijbakker-Morra Stichting Prijswinnaars 2018-19
Awards academic year 2018-2019
Nijbakker-Morra Stichting Prijswinnaars 2017-18.
Awards academic year 2017-2018
Awards academic year 2016-2017
Awards academic year 2015-2016
Awards academic year 2014-2015
Awards academic year 2013-2014
Nijbakker-Morra Stichting Prijswinnaars 2012-13
Awards academic year 2012-2013
Awards academic year 2011-2012
Awards academic year 2010-2011
Awards academic year 2009-2010
Awards academic year 2008-2009
Awards academic year 2007-2008
Awards academic year 2006-2007
Awards academic year 2005-2006
Awards academic year 2004-2005
Awards academic year 2003-2004